Retrofit & Modifications

Solid frame, obsolete electronics...

Is your machine is now orphaned by its vendor who refuses to support it at a reasonable price, if at all ? If it's mechanically sound, chances are a retrofit may be in order. 

Your current machine could get a second lease on life thus avoiding the enormous capital expenditure of a new machine.

For a reasonable amount, you get a modern PC-based control system, touch screen and wireless control pendant. Sometimes, a new electrical panel may be necessary as well. In all cases, well worh the investment.

Should you require new capabilities at this time, your machine can possibly be modified to fulfill new requirements. 



Here are a few examples of recent retrofits and mods...

V. Alberti

Three sisters.

Three V.Alberti wood cutting centers that served the office furniture industry with honor for many years were ripe for a carreer change: Their new owners wanted to cut 3D molds for vacuforming and other large 3D parts.

These retrofits included replacing the heads and the Z-axes with custom-fabricated assemblies which yielded a 18-inch vertical stroke, close to three times that of the original. The machine was also stripped of the gang-drilling heads, these being useless for their new 3-D mission. One of these machines was equipped with an automatic toolchanger and all three got a modern, compact electrical panel, along with Mach3-based control systems and touch screens. With the durable Italian quality of their build, these machines have many good years ahead of them.


Thermwood

This solid and heavy machine was acquired from a woodshop which had set it aside because of a lack of support from the builder. The obsolete control system (it even read diskettes!) was completely removed and replaced by a modern and compact electrical panel and a Mach3-based controller. The machine is operated from a simple laptop and boasts a functional automatic toolchanger. Once retrofitted, it was purchased by a cabinetmaker early 2016.


Weiss

This manual milling/drilling machine was converted to CNC early 2015. The Mach3-based controller runs on a Lenovo tablet mounted on the machine. Many mechanical modifications were necessary to accomodate ballscrews on all three axes. The manual quill was retained as desired by the owner. It regularly cuts mild steel, aluminum and engineering plastics.

Fadal

This FADAL 4020 was purchased late 2015 in marginal working condition. The goal here was to explore the limits of a Mach3-based controller with stepper motors. The machine now features 4200-oz NEMA 42 monster stepper motors, more than enough to move even this heavy machine.

The retrofit also includes a CSMIO ethernet controller module, a new solenoid-valve gang and a Yaskawa VFD capable of taming the humungous 10HP low-speed spindle motor.

AXYZ

This machine was in total lack of TLC and was dismissed as heap of scrap. It was used to cut aluminum with undiluted coolant for close to two decades. After a deep, thourough cleanup, a new paint job, new linear rails and bearings, new stepper motors and control panel, the machine was ready for a radical transformation.

Our client needed a machine to cut nylon-reinforced vinyl sheets. We designed and fabricated a tangential cutting head with a rotary knife, controlled by the 4th axis. The new head also features a pneumatically-controlled quick-drying ink pen which is used to mark sewing guides on the material before cutting.

A Mach3 custom interface was developped which allows for marking and cutting either in a single or separate operations via a touch screen. This machine is also equipped with infrared LED safety curtains. It was delivered to a happy customer in mid-2016

Bridgeport

Another example of a lack of TLC. This american classic was delivered to us in early 2017 in a appalling state of uncleanliness. Many pounds of steel chips polymerized in old cutting oil covered every imaginable surface of this machine, yet the owner rightfully expected a quality retrofit. After a thorough cleanup and a dismantling of its obsolete control and electrical system, a new panel and wiring were fitted. The machine is now ready to begin its new life.

Today, the control system features LinuxCNC and NEMA 43 steppers and the machine purrs like a kitten. Its well-oiled induction-hardened dovetail ways show no signs of wear and the overly-complex automatic toolchanger works like a charm even with its fifteen solenoid valves and its dozen microswitches !

Joy Channel Letter Bender

This machine is designed to bend metal strips into letter profiles for commercial signs.

The story of this machine is an all-too-frequent one: The client purchases an oriental machine online and it arrives without documentation or support and, of course, it does not work properly. As the vendor did not return phone calls, the only possible outcome was an outright retrofit.

This project was quite complicated, as we had to learn the subtleties of letter-bending along the way. The machine now accurately bends letter profiles from DXF drawings thanks to a Mach3-based control system featuring complex macros and a file-conversion software, custom-written in Python.

Unich

Yet another example of a machine ordered on-line without support or documentation. Regardless, this particular machine features AC servos for all three axes, a rare quality for a table this size.

A simple retrofit to a Mach3-based control brought the smile back on our client's face !

Trima

This machine was purchased mid-2015 following a sad incident during a moving operation, where a cable conduit was accidentally severed by the previous owner. The manufacturer wanted more than the machine's net value to perform the necessary repairs, which essentially wrote off the machine.

However, a retrofit seemed like an ideal solution. The original control system was removed, the wiring stripped, a new compact and modern electrical panel was fitted and a standard Mach3 system installed with a touch screen. The machine uses big 4200-oz NEMA 42 steppers and regularly cuts 3D molds and wood panels.

Panectric

The owner of this digital table saw was running out of options when the machine refused to move the cutting guide.

A stepper motor was replaced along with its drive, which fixed the problem. Although not a strictly a retrofit, we couldn't pass the opportunity to mention yet another happy customer !

The client took delivery of his repaired saw in mid-2006

Redline

This old manual vacuforming press was sold to a client who was aiming to do heavy production runs with it. It was imperative to automate its operation.

A Schneider-Telemecanique PLC along with a Schneider touch-screen  HMI were fitted, along with a custom ladder program. The machine has been in heavy production ever since, generating profits for its owner. The press was delivered in early 2016.

Rétrofit & Modifications

Bâti durable, électronique éphémère...

Votre machine est devenue orpheline car son fabricant ne la supporte plus (ou refuse de le faire pour un coût raisonnable) ? Pourtant elle vous semble solide et montre peu d'usure mécanique... Dans ce cas, un retrofit pourrait être une solution viable et financièrement intéressante.

En effet, vous pourriez donner un deuxième souffle de vie à votre équipement tout en évitant les coûts considérables d'un achat de machinerie neuve.

Votre machine sera équipée d'un système de contrôle moderne, basé sur PC, avec écran tactile et manette sans fil. Des modifications peuvent être apportées à votre machine si vous souhaitez des fonctionnalités différentes ou supplémentaires. 



Voici Quelques exemples de rétrofits et modifications
réalisés récemment...

V. Alberti

Les Triplettes de CNC-Ville.

Trois centres de découpe V.Alberti ayant sevi à l'industrie du meuble de bureau pendant des décennies, mûres pour un changement de vocation: Le client voulait usiner des moules de thermoformage et des pièces en 3D. 

Le rétrofit de ces machines inclut le remplacement complet de la tête par une tête fabriquée sur mesure avec broche simple ayant 18 po. de course (trois fois plus que l'originale). Une de ces machine fut équipée d'un changeur d'outils et toutes les trois ont reçu un panneau moderne et compact ainsi qu'un contrôleur basé sur Mach3 avec écran tactile. Avec la qualité Italienne des bâtis, ces machines ont encore de belles années devant elles.


Thermwood

Cette machine fut acquise d'un atelier qui l'avait mise à l'écart dû à une absence totale de support de la part du fabricant. Le système de contrôle désuet (fonctionnant avec des disquettes!) fut complètement démonté et remplacé par un panneau compact et moderne. Le contrôleur, maintenant basé sur Mach3, tourne sur un ordinateur portable et la machine possède également un changeur d'outils pleinement fonctionnel. Elle fut vendue à un client ébéniste début 2016.


Weiss

Cette fraiseuse/perceuse manuelle fut convertie en CNC début 2015. Le contrôleur est basé sur Mach3, avec une interface sur mesure tournant sur une tablette Lenovo montée sur la machine. Des modifications mécaniques furent nécéssaires afin d'accommoder les vis-mères à billes sur les trois axes. Elle coupe régulièrement de l'acier doux, de l'aluminium et des plastiques d'ingéniérie.

Fadal

Ce centre d'usinage FADAL 4020 fut acquis fin 2015 en état de marche, mais toutefois avec l'objectif de tester les limites d'un système Mach3 muni de moteurs pas-à-pas. Elle est aujourd'hui équipée de moteurs NEMA 42 développant un couple de 4200 oz amplement suffisant pour une machine aussi lourde.

Cette machine possède maintenant un panneau compact et moderne, un contrôleur ethernet CSMIO piloté par Mach3, une rampe d'électrovannes toute neuve et un onduleur Yaskawa capable de dompter le moteur massif de la broche.

AXYZ

Cette machine manquait sérieusement d'amour lorsque nous l'avons acquise, ayany servi à couper de la plaque d'aluminium pendant deux décénies. Après un nettoyage profond, une nouvelle peinture et le remplacement des rails linéaires, des moteurs pas-à-pas et du panneau de contrôle, la machine était prete pour vivre un changement de vocation majeur.

En effet, notre client avait besoin d'une machine pour découper des feilles de vinyle renforcé avec du tissu. Nous avons conçu une tête spéciale sur mesure avec un couteau rotatif orientable sur le 4e axe, ainsi qu'une tête de marquage à l'encre à sèchage rapide.

Une interface sur mesure fut développée pour Mach3 permetant de passer du marquage au découpage à l'aide d'un écran tactile. Cette machine est équipée d'un rideau de sécurité à DEL infrarouges. La livraison a eu lieu mi-2016.

Bridgeport

Un autre exemple d'une belle machine en  manque d'attention. Ce classique américain nous est arrivé au printemps 2017 dans un état lamentable en termes de saleté. Plusieurs kilogrammes de copeaux d'acier et d'huile de coupe solidifiée recouvraient chaque surface de la machine, visible ou non. Une fois nettoyée en profondeur, l'ancien système de contrôle démonté et un nouveau panneau moderne installé, cette machine repart pour une nouvelle vie chez son propriétaire.

Aujourd'hui elle est contôlée par Linux CNC, utilise des moteurs pas-à-pas NEMA 34 et ronronne comme un chaton. Ses queues d'aronde durcies par induction ne montrent aucun signe d'usure et même le complexe changeur d'outils avec ses 15 electrovannes et sa douzaine d'interrupteurs de fin de course fonctionnent !

Joy Channel Letter Bender

Cette machine est conçue pour plier des bandes métalliques en suivant des profils de lettres pour des enseignes commerciales.

L'histoire de cette machine est malheureusement trop fréquente: Un client achète une machine chinoise sur Ebay, mais elle arrive sans documentation adéquate et le vendeur ne retourne pas les appels. La machine ne fonctionnant pas, la seul dénouement possible passe par un retrofit d'office.

Ce fut un projet de longue haleine, mais la machine plie aujourd'hui des profils de lettres dessinées en DXF. La machine est pilotée par un système utilisant Mach3 avec des macros complexes écrites sur mesure, ainsi qu'un logiciel de conversion de format écrit en Python, également développé sur mesure.

Unich

Encore un exemple de machine chinoise achetée en ligne, qui est arrivée sans support ni documentation. Pourtant elle est équipée de servomoteurs, une qualité rare pour une machine de cete taille.

Un rétrofit simple avec un contrôle Mach3 a ramené le sourire sur le visage de notre client !

Trima

Cette machine fut acquise mi-2015 suite à un incident malheureux où, lors d'un déménagement, un conduit de câblage fut sectionné par erreur. Le fabricant voulait un montant équivalent au prix de la machine pour effectuer la réparation, ce qui était impensable.

Un retrofit semblait encore une fois la meilleure solution. Le système de contrôle original fut démonté, un nouveau panneau moderne et compact installé et une configuration classique Mach3 avec écran tactile connectée.

La machine possède une construction allemande de très haute qualité et aujourd'hui coupe aussi bien des  feuilles de mélamine que des moules en 3D destinés au thermoformage.

Panectric

Le propriétaire de ce banc de scie numérique était à court d'options lorsque celui-ci refusait tout mouvement de son guide de coupe.

Un remplacement de moteur pas-à-pas ainsi que de son indexeur donna un nouveau souffle de vie à cette machine chinoise. Bien que ce ne soit pas un rétrofit à proprement parler, la satisfaction du client mérite tout de même d'être mentionnée !

Le client prit livraison de sa machine mi-2016

Redline

Cette vieille thermoformeuse manuelle fut vendue à un client qui prévoyait une production en série. Il était donc impératif d'automatiser l'opération de la machine afin qu'elle puisse s'acquiter de ses nouvelles tâches.

Un automate Schneider-Télémécanique assorti d'un écran tactile Scneider, d'une programmation sur mesure et d'un nouveau paneau électrique ont vite fait de transformer cette presse à thermoformer en une machine de production industrielle générant des profits pour notre client. Inutile de mentionner sa satisfaction ! La machine fut livrée début 2016.